My first attempt at the Daily Prompt!!

I just started following the http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/daily-prompt-9/ and today’s prompt was…

You have 300 words to justify the existence of your favorite person, place or thing. Failure to convince will result in it vanishing without a trace…

For me I am going to tell you about my experience at an orphanage in India and why I feel it was the best and most favorite place and time in my life. I feel every person should visit a 3rd world country at some point in their lives! It grants a person so much perspective on how your life could be and a thankfulness of what it really is!

When I went to India to volunteer at an orphanage for 6 months I had just been through some very trying times in my life. My 4 month old marriage ended in shambles to the point that I fled to a women’s shelter. I had just miscarried our baby at 9 weeks and I was devastated! The hopes and dreams that I had created for our life was gone in the blink of an eye. I was left heartbroken, bruised and scarred feeling that I wasn’t worthy enough to have a husband that loved me enough to get the help he needed to stop his addictions to cocaine and alcohol.

SO I hopped on a plane and found a way to minister to toddlers and infants! I would sit there and cry over these sweet babies whose lives were as messed up as mine. I would spend sweet moments rocking babies that would have been the same age as my baby should she have lived, I saing them lullabies, and I got angry at the injustice that was done to them. And ultimately I healed my hurts and wounds by pouring my love and time into others. It took my focus off of my circumstances and placed it on helping others.

If anyone is in need of healing then I highly recommend going to this beautiful, exotic, aromatic, colorful place! It is a sad place with much poverty but it helps to put your own life into perspective and know that if could always be worse! You will find a lasting joy knowing you made a moment in their life happy!

I went over 300 words!!! Hopefully I still past the challenge as I would never want India to disappear!

20121105-231006.jpg

20121105-231101.jpg

20121105-231154.jpg

4 thoughts on “My first attempt at the Daily Prompt!!

  1. shatashari says:

    I’m convinced India and the children should stay.

  2. I am so sorry to hear of your troubles and the loss of your precious child, but oh man, I am so touched at the way in which you chose to deal with it.

    So many people would let that anger and injustice poison them, but you used it to help others.

    What a strong woman you are.

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

