Photography

I am learning that I am pretty sure that I love photography more than I do writing! And I love writing! There is just something about being able to effectively catch the sunlight on a lake, a raindrop on a rose petal or an amazing sunset that only God alone could paint!

They say that a picture is worth a thousand words and I totally agree with that! Authors spend 10-100 pages just describing what could be said in one snap shot!

I also saw a cool saying that spoke volumes to me while perusing through Pinterest!

Image

So many times in my life I have looked at the bad things that have happened to me or the wrong choices that I have made as a failure or my own weaknesses coming through so the world could see.

I have had what many people would consider negative things happen in my life but I am beginning to see how it has made me a stronger, more grace-filled and loving person.

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters,

[a] whenever you face trials of many kinds,

because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

James 1:1-3

And I love this verse in Romans! It has always helped me when I have stumbled and feel like I can’t get up. Or have lost my way and doubted God and his existence in my life.

“5 Therefore, since we have been declared righteous by faith, we have peace[a] with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. 2

 We have also obtained access through Him by faith[b] into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in the hope of the glory

of God. And not only that, but we also rejoice in our afflictions, because we know that affliction produces endurance,

endurance produces proven character, and proven character produces hope. This hope will not disappoint us, because God’s

love has been poured out in our hearts through the Holy Spirit who was given to us.”

Romans 5:1-5

All this to say that these past few weeks I have been taking more pictures with my little 3megapixel IPhone and loving capturing little God moments. It helps me to see that He still has my life in His hands and knows whats in store for me! He shows me each day through a sunset, the beautiful rainbow that appeared while at Niagara Falls, and through each and every picture taken that God is still God, God is still in control, and God loves me with an everlasting love!

Here are a few of my favorite photos that I have taken recently….

Isaiah 40:8
The grass withers and the flowers fall, but the word of our God endures forever.”

 Psalm 147:8 He covers the sky with clouds; he supplies the earth with rain and makes grass grow on the hills.

John 15:5
“I am the vine; you are the branches. The one who remains in Me and I in him produces much fruit, because you can do nothing without Me.


Genesis 9:16
Whenever the rainbow appears in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and all living creatures of every kind on the earth.”

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Luke 12:27
“Consider how the wild flowers grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you, not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these.

 

 

27 Then he said to Thomas, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.”
28 Thomas said to him, “My Lord and my God!”
29 Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have not seen and yet have believed.”

 

These are just the beginning of my many pictures that have spoken volumes to me in the past month or two. God has shown me so much everyday and I am glad that I can share it with others!

If you would like to follow my photo updates you can do that via Instagram at the link below.

6 thoughts on “Photography

  1. Just read this post and was fascinated with not only your photographic skills but also your use of Scripture with some of them. I’m especially drawn to the verses from James 1 — verses which have guided me for several years now since a rather traumatic break from our church home. Also, the bridge in one of your photos looks amazingly familiar. Are you somewhere in the NW?

    • Thank you!! No I live in upstate NY. That bridge is on the way to my friends house about an hour south of me. I love putting scripture with the photos I have taken! Im sure I will try another attempt at that again sometime soon! I also have an instagram account with all my pics and just started the process of selling them on instacanv.as.com and igskins.com

      • The bridge looks like one on our Oregon coastline near a town called Newport. The bridge crosses Yaquina Bay. A lovely sight and place. Good luck with your photography and your use of God’s word with your photos.

      • Thank you Sherrey! I have always wanted to go to Oregon or Washington! When I was getting ready to leave my husband I was actually going to go out there… I figured it was the furthest place in the continental US to go but alas God had different plans!! Maybe someday I will have the blessing of coming out that way and taking a picture of that bridge! =)

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

