Where is the integrity?!

Psalm 26:11
But as for me, I shall walk in my integrity; Redeem me, and be gracious to me.

Im wondering if I am the only one in this world that has a strong sense of integrity and wanting to be honest, up-front and open when it comes to a job, employment and life in general??

I have had such a challenge these past few years finding a job that held the same level of integrity that I strive for. Don’t get me wrong I am human, I stumble and fall but when I am asked to blatantly and bold faced lie to people I have a problem with that! I was even told tonight by a co-worker that I would get used to it and it would become second nature! I don’t want that!!

I lived a life that was so full of lies I had a hard time keeping them all straight and even got to the point in my life that the lies became “truth” in my mind. I never want to get to that place ever again! I grew up in an abusive home that was masked with lies, manipulation and deception. I didn’t find out it was an abusive home until I was 28 and going through my own abusive marriage and struggling to get out alive!

So why do businesses feel that being dishonest is the only way to do business yet they want employees that are honest, wouldn’t steal from them and trustworthy?

Proverbs 11:3
The integrity of the upright will guide them, But the crookedness of the treacherous will destroy them.

Businesses say that its in their best interest and financially necessary to be dishonest but have they never read any part of the bible? There are over 30 verses in the bible about walking in integrity and truth!

I just saw a verse in my search for verses about business, integrity and honest… this is a BIG aaaah haaa for me!!

A couple years ago God gave me this verse in James 1:27: “Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained by the world.”

I thought I knew what this meant for my life and that I was supposed to go back over to India and work at an orphanage. Circumstances and different things happened in my life and I wasn’t able to go when I wanted or planned on going. My move back up to NY was actually to be closer to this church that has helped start a new girls home in Pune, India and I was excited about being more involved. The people on the committee have not been responsive to my coming on board and I have been very discouraged about whether this was where I was supposed to get involved. I want to be involved in an organization that WANTS me to be there and will be an encouragement and support for me now since the preparation time is so key when getting ready to go overseas. It also helps a person to see what kind of support they offer now while your in their midst… if it is non-existent than you can usually expect the same or worse when you are thousands of miles away from the fold!

But I digressed…. The verse that I just found was in James 413-15:

 “Come now, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to such and such a city, and spend a year there and engage in business and make a profit.Yet you do not know what your life will be like tomorrow. You are just a vapor that appears for a little while and then vanishes away. Instead, you ought to say, “If the Lord wills, we will live and also do this or that.”

I am a planner… I want this road map of my life before I jump because I have done my share of leaps and had them be a total mess. So in some areas of my life I struggle with wanting to plan ever thing down to the minutest detail… but what if God is calling us to trust Him with the details. What if I am finding these jobs and dissatisfaction because God is trying to move me in the direction of India but I am not listening or being obedient?!

Remember above… I am human! I still struggle with all these things and knowing exactly what God is trying to speak to me.

God I just want to be where you want me! If that is in India or here please show me so that I know. Please help me to continue to trust you with my whole being. Help me to not need to know all the details of how Im going to be able to finance everything, where Im going supposed to go and how its all going to fall into place. I WILL TRUST!! And when I find myself getting anxious with the details I will quote…

Philippians 4:6
Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God.

Direct my steps with my job and help me to be an example of You through this whole process of explaining why integrity is so important and essential to my life!

5 thoughts on “Where is the integrity?!

  1. Very good post. Something I’ve learned in working is that God has never called me to work surrounded by honest and upright people who love Him. Oh, and how I used to pray that He would, because it would make my life so much easier. 😉

    But somewhere along the way, I came to the realization that God was deliberately sending me into these dark places, so that His light could shine through me. Even though people want you to lie, and they try to pressure you to do so, some of them secretly respect you for taking a stand and being upright and truthful. But don’t expect any of them to welcome you with open arms, because the darkness hates the light, because your honesty, the light of Christ that shines through you, exposes their sin.

    As for the church not receiving you, don’t forget that the tares are growing alongside the wheat, and the Lord will separate them one day, but until then, their job is to make things harder for you. And your job is to let your light so shine before men that they will see your good works and glorify your Father who is in heaven. 🙂

    Lots of love to you,
    Cheryl

    • Thank you so much Cheryl! I too have learned that there are always going to be people who are not truthful and honestly I am ok with that because I am not them nor will I have to stand with them holding their hand on judgement day when God asks them why they were not living a life of integrity. I just would like to be able to find an employer that respects and upholds honesty. A place where your not asked to lie on a daily basis. I am trying so hard to let my light shine but it constantly feels like the big bad wolf is standing right beside me huffing and puffing and blowing my little light out! I also know that there is one roaming the earth seeking whom he can devour and that he looks for those who he can steal, kill and destroy… He hasn’t gotten me yet though at times it feels like it!!

  2. I love all of this! Sadly ours rare to meet people who have and hold high standards for themselves. This is something i struggle with the longer it has taken for us to find a home church. Stay motivated in your job search! In my experience companies do most of their hiring at the beginning of the year so keep holding on!

    • Thanks so much for the encouragement! I didn’t always have these high standards but I really think going through all the things I did really helped me to see just how important it really is! Im hold on for now but I am going to talk to my boss when she comes back through and just explain that I can’t lie… really I have become horrible at it (Thank God!!) and see what she is willing to do. If it comes down to keeping my job only if I am willing to say the things that they want then its not where I need to be! I have tomorrow off so I am going to job hunt like crazy!! =)

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

