So much to do, so little time to do it!

With all the changes that have happened this week and my up coming move to Montana, I sometimes feel myself getting overwhelmed with all of the details and preparations!

What should I take? How am I going to fit everything in a “dorm” room sized room that I will be sharing with someone? What might I need during the year internship?

How am I going to get out there? Are we going to drive out? 2,195 miles… maybe not! Fly out? What are the prices for flights?

SO MANY questions whirling around in my head and people asking me all the details…

And let me tell ya I am a detail person, I want it all laid out and planned down to how many pairs of underwear I will need!

hahaha… ok maybe not that bad!

Through all the questions and preparations, God is reminding me to rest in Him! He has brought this opportunity to me, He has prepared the hearts of the people who offered me the internship, He will take me through the rest of the this process!

Yesterdays devotion from Sarah Young’s, Jesus Calling spoke so much to my overwhelmed soul!

The first words were… “Rest in me, my child, forgetting about the worries of the world. Focus on me- Immanuel- And let my living Presence envelop you in peace.”

How fitting in the light of such sadness, terror and evil that transpired yesterday in CT.

It is so easy for people to question God during these times and ask where He is?

He is where He has always been… Dying to show a world who rejects Him how much He loved them that He would send His only Son as payment for your and my sins. He is right next to you waiting for your to cry out to Him. He is a gentleman and will not enter a place or person that He is not welcomed into.

It is easy to let the events of yesterday do one of two things to us…

1) We become fearful to live or leave our homes. We let the event paralyze us from doing anything because we are so afraid.

1 John 4:18
There is no fear in love, but perfect love casts out fear. For fear has to do with punishment, and whoever fears has not been perfected in love.

Or…

2) We become complacent. We say what do people expect when they want to take God out of everything. We get angry with the humans whose eyes are not opened to God’s grace, love and mercy.

I found myself becoming apathetic when I heard about the shooting and it really scared me! It is a coping mechanism to deal with trauma such as happened yesterday. I don’t want to be apathetic, complacent or fearful because none of the above is of God! He yearns to heal a world that hurts, bleeds and dies without knowing Him. He mourns for each and every person that is going through hard times. It is not His will that these things happen.

I want God’s eyes, ears, hands, feet and heart for the world. I want to cry with those that mourn, rejoice with those that rejoice and love a world that doesn’t understand it all. I don’t want to harden my heart to be able to effectively deal with bad things that happen. Emotions are a way for us to display what is going on in our minds, hearts and bodies. When we attempt to turn emotions off we loose the ability to adequately love those that are lost and hurt.

Lord,

I pray for each and every family that has been affected by the terrible events that happened yesterday. Instead of pointing fingers Lord I pray that we will throw our arms up in the air, head up, heart abandoned and intercede for this world. There are so many that don’t know you Lord. Help us not to dwell on our day to day lists of things to do but to focus on the things that are important to you and furthering your kingdom!

Romans 5:8
but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

download

Source: 

 

2 thoughts on “So much to do, so little time to do it!

  1. best wishes and prayers to you, friend as you make the big move and transition. You are so right in that God has it under His control and He will make it all work together for your good. Thanks for sharing your Story!

    • Thank you Andi for your prayers! I will need those above all! I’m super excited about this new opportunity and though it will be a challenge I know He will give me the grace, love and backbone that I need to be effective for Him! Thank you for taking the time to read my blog! I will definitely be blogging about my time out there so I hope you can stay in touch and read about all that God does! 🙂 Merry Christmas!

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

