My new home!

20130113-222109.jpg

I arrived yesterday evening to my new home for the next year! The women greeted me fondly by accidentally scaring me upon arriving at the house on hopes they were retaliating against the lady that picked me up from the airport. Instead I opened the door and had the pleasure of meeting two of our women. =)

They apologized and felt so bad but I told them not to worry! I don’t get mad… I get even! Haha! They are a little worried! =)

But seriously all of the women have been so sweet and welcoming! They tell me that I am a huge answer to prayer and all I can do is look to God to be my strength. I want Him to use me for each and every moment.

It has been an emotional roller coaster with all things new and so many faces to try and remember. My initial response is to withdrawal however I woke up this morning in time to go to breakfast, church and spent some time throughout the day with the women. It’s only through God’s strength that I have been able to do that today!

And through a chance happening after one cigarette yesterday morning before we left for the airport and God’s hand in me leaving them sitting on my dresser in Batavia, I am doing surprisingly well! I did just have to remove myself from sitting next to a girl who was chomping her gum while we were watching a movie… But I didn’t pummel her like I was beginning to want to. Instead when in my power I will remove myself from the thing that irritates me until I am strong enough to have it not be a button to push. I have had moments where I thought of how much I wanted a cigarette however each time I prayed for the desire and thoughts to be taken away. Sometimes it took a few minutes for the cravings to go but they did eventually subside. The women are aware that I quit yesterday to come here so I think they have a respect and understanding that I am right where they were when they started here! It may not be cocaine but I have heard and felt that cigarettes can be as addictive if not more addictive than cocaine and just as hard to stop. I don’t say quit because I am anything but not a quitter! I have been through to much in my life to ever have that word attached to me!

Stay tuned for more as time goes on! 🙂

God bless!

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

