Ever been in the Hot Seat?

Today marks my second month in Montana and oh boy has it been a roller coaster ride!

God is stretching me more than I have ever been stretched before! I have felt like Gumby on more than one occasion these past 2 months!

Source unknown

Source unknown

Today I had my second experience at something they like to call the “hot seat”. During this time the ladies go around and point out areas that they see that you need to work on. It can be a stressful and hard experience to take in and digest especially when our human nature is to hide or not admit our faults but to find an excuse or a reason for why we did things the way we did. At first you want to justify your actions but then something from my child hood comes up. It has been long since healed in many aspects but it was always a longing just to have my emotions and feelings validated. Whether they were what the other person meant to say or do it made me feel a certain way and the only thing that would have helped was to hear, “I am sorry that it made you feel that way, I could see how it might and I am sorry.”

When we let go of the being right, the deflecting of fault or the explaining away things we are just left with what happened whether it was intentional or not. I have learned in most cases it is definitely not intentional but a series of events that causes a person to react to a trigger that sets them off verbally or emotionally. To that person that is the injured party they don’t want to hear the series of events that caused the outburst upon them but only the apology. The desire to have a trust in someone that can admit when there has been a violation to what is right and good.

Some people go through their whole lives with no one that will do that for them. So during this time, God is putting me in the situation to be willing to understand where these women are coming from. To apologize for what I have done, though I started out giving explanations and reasons for my actions, God brought me to the place where all I could say was “I am sorry”. I didn’t want to make a long list of promises that it will never happen again because I am human, I am processing through an organization where I wasn’t a student first and then became an intern, and because it is hard to get training for a job that is mostly hands on.

However I do feel that today marked a turning point for several reasons. The staff offered an apology that really helped me to see that I am not alone in this. Though there was things done or said that I felt had broken trust, I in my brokenness did not address it the way that I should but began the shutting down process I am striving to identify and overcome. By them humbling themselves in the area of failing it opened up the door for me to freely receive the guidance and suggestions from the women and staff.

It is amazing how the devil tries to create discord, dysfunction and eventually the unraveling of an organization. However if you are willing to sit in the “Hot Seat” and learn your strengths and areas needing improvement, take what is said and have a teachable spirit to know it is done in love, then change can be born. Not only change but what the devil meant for harm and to destroy an individual God can turn it around for good and to help grow a person when they are willing. By allowing people to speak into your life it helps to create an atmosphere of grace, love and forgiveness.

One thought on “Ever been in the Hot Seat?

  1. Amanda, I can see you growing by leaps and bounds. What a beautifully written post that offers a great deal of wisdom for those who are willing to receive it. God bless you my friend as you continue on your journey, and thank you for sharing your words of wisdom. I received them. 🙂

    Love,
    Cheryl

Reading your responses makes me smile so please leave me your thoughts! =)

